About Vespa World Days

About Vespa World Days

Since 1946, Piaggio has sold over 18 Million units worldwide which has made the Vespa scooter an Iconic mode of transport throughout the decades of the past and many more to come.

Each year a National Vespa Club puts on a World event that attracts thousands of Vespa Club Members from around the world and they not only come for the Vespa event, they enjoy sampling the local food, drink and the Culture. This Event is from Club to Clubs, meaning that only National Vespa Clubs can organize it and only members can participate.

An area is set up for all the Vespa riders and enthusiasts called the "Vespa Village" where a large selection of stalls are erected by companies, clubs and Piaggio themselves displaying merchandise and memorabilia for the public to peruse and buy.

The Vespa Village is the main focal point for everybody to meet old and new friends from around the world and to share their travelling experiences—not only to this event, but to other events that are held all over Europe.

In 2014, Italy held the Vespa World Days event in Mantova, which is in the North of the country and attracted the largest ever gathering of Vespa Scooters with a total of 10,000 Vespas from 32 Countries and 132 National Clubs.

The following year was in Biograd na Moru on the coast of Croatia which attracted over 5,000 Vespas and held in beautiful holiday settings which meant that Croatia was then put firmly on the map for future family holidays amongst many of the visiting scooter enthusiasts. Vespa Club Croatia held largest ever Gala Dinner for 2,800 participants.

Over the years the organisation of the Vespa World Days has become more involved for the Host Nation, especially as the years go by, the bar of achievement by the Volunteers, and more so the expectancy from the Vespa Enthusiasts travelling hundreds, even thousands of miles, is pushed higher each year.

Past History of Eurovespa / Vespa World Days from 1954 - 2016

In 1953 the idea of a "Vespa Club of Europe" was first muted by the Vespa Club of Italy and its President Renato Tassinari as Piaggio had pushed its boundaries in producing the Vespa Scooter to all over Europe. The first real parade of Vespa Scooters was in Paris at a Folk Festival where all the riders were in an uniformed costume.

In 1955 it goes a step further and the location is in San Remo but it is reserved for the Italians only. It was not until 1957 that the name "Vespa Club d'Europe" was used at the Barcelona meet and from here on the organisation was built in order to promote a yearly meeting all over Europe.

1954: Paris (France)
1955: San Remo (Italy)
1956: Monaco, Germany (West Germany)
1957: Barcelona (Spain)
1958: Brussels (Belgium)
1959: Paris (France)
1960: Rome (Italy)
1961: Salzburg (Austria)
1962: Madrid (Spain)
1963: Cortina d'Ampezzo (Italy)
1966: Florence (Italy)
1967: Mainz (West Germany)
1969: Viareggio (Italy)
1970: Locarno (Switzerland)
1981: San Vincenzo (Italy)
1982: Reggio Calabria (Italy)
1983: Saarbrücken (West Germany)
1984: Verona (Italy)
1985: Frankfurt (West Germany)
1986: Barcelona (Spain)
1987: Krems (Austria)
1988: Aix-les-Bains (France)
1989: Kaiserslautern (West Germany)
1990: Kreuzlingen (Switzerland)
1991: Republic of San Marino
1992: Pforzheim (West Germany)
1993: Abano Terme (Italy)
1994: Girona (Spain)
1995: Aix-en-Provence (France)
1996: San Remo (Italy)
1997: Thessaloniki (Greece)
1998: Groningen (Netherlands)
1999: Girona (Spain)
2000: Hamburg (West Germany)
2001: Nevers-Fourchambault (France)
2002: Viterbo (Italy)
2003: Vienna (Austria)
2004: Lisbon (Portugal)
2005: Wörthersee (Austria)
2006: Turin (Italy)

In 2007 the yearly events name was changed to the "Vespa World Days" under the supervision of the Vespa World Club continuing the annual gathering of Vespa Club members from around the world.

2007: San Marino (Italy)
2008: Cefalu: (Sicily)
2009: Zell am See (Austria)
2010: Fatima (Portugal)
2011: Gjovik (Norway)
2012: London (United Kingdom)
2013: Hasselt (Belgium)
2014: Mantova (Italy)
2015: Biograd na Moru (Croatia)
2016: St Tropez (France)
2017: Celle (Germany)
2018: Belfast (United Kingdom)
2019: Zanka (Hungary)